8 Ways on “How to Cultivate Your Personal Learning Network”

networking-2
Photo Taken from La Rioja Blog

Building your personal learning network (PLN) is important. Your contacts that you start to build into your PLN should have valuable information and ideas that are based on your interests. When I started building my PLN I searched on Google who as a teacher should I follow on Twitter. It was easy to find the “Top 35 Twitter accounts to follow for teachers”. Twitter has opened up a world for me to connect with educators and follow organizations that are based across the world. I think this is key for a PLN to be connected to different parts of the world and use their influence and information for tips in our classrooms. Connecting with different parts of the world can be beneficial for our students as well to see how other educators do assignments and lessons. Personal learning networks help us learn new things and also challenge our thinking. For example, is this Twitter account worth following? Is this information going to help me? These are some of the questions we need to ask ourselves before we start to follow these accounts for our personal learning networks. It’s important we are using our search engines the appropriate way and that we understand some of the information on the internet might be fabricated and not the truth. When I was looking for Twitter accounts for teachers to follow I had to be very specific in what to type in so I didn’t have to spend time going through what is useful and not. The article “How to Cultivate a Personal Learning Network : Tips from Howard Rheingold” by Chuck Frey stated that Rheingold described in a tweet how to capture “. . . own personal reference (Diigo, a browser plug-in that enables you to capture web pages and portions of them), for sharing with others (delicious, a social sharing tool) and for finding relevant Twitter lists and subject matter experts in your areas of inquiry (listorious).”

We need to find people who will benefit us to have in our PLN. If their information isn’t useful or valuable than we don’t need to follow them. Before we decide to follow on Twitter it would be a good idea to look at what they’ve posted and determine if this can be beneficial for us to use. If it turns out that someone you have in your PLN isn’t building you up than you can always delete and add others on your personal learning network. Also, we picky who you follow. This can be helpful so you don’t follow the wrong people. “Give value, receive value.”

“Be proactive – share FIRST. Don’t wait for someone you’re connected with to share something with you.”

3 thoughts on “8 Ways on “How to Cultivate Your Personal Learning Network””

  1. This is something that I may have a bit of trouble with at first unless I truly find information that I need. I don’t like to be the first one to ask questions, I like to silently sift through other information before I take a stand and ask questions. I need to let go of feeling incompetent in my knowledge in order to pursue other information that books and regular websites may not give me.

    Like

  2. I really liked how you focused on the importance of sharing within your PLN. Sometimes your response to other peoples’ questions could be the thing that forges a strong professional connection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

