Digital Citizenship

9ebf4cc3469fe6982529004d1216be0a
Photo Taken from Digital Citizenship Page

Digital Citizenship helps teachers and parents understand what technology is appropriate for their students and children. This helps prepare our student and children for a world full of growing technology. Digital Citizenship can cover “cyberbullying, technology access, and the digital divide, online safety and privacy, copyright, plagiarism, and digital law, and more”.

For future reference I thought the article “The Digital Citizenship Survival Kit” was great to read and keep handy. Here are some of the items in the kit: padlock, toothbrush, toothpaste, and permanent marker. ” The padlock is to remind students to set strong passwords and to set up passcode locks on all of their digital devices. “Lock ’em down”  as we like to say in our Digital Citizenship lessons. I tell students to think that passwords and toothbrushes are very similar in the fact that you NEVER want to share passwords. (I do highly encourage/recommend that students to share passwords with parents). Everything that you put online is permanent… even if you hit the delete button after posting. Odds are someone has retweeted, favorited, or taken a screenshot of the material if it was questionable. Imagine the information that you are putting online is like the toothpaste coming out of the tube. Once it is out, it is almost impossible to get it all back in the tube! The survival kit is very simple. It has been a very effective prop in getting students to think about their online behavior.” (Mr. Badura)

The video by Juan Enriquez “Your online life, permanent as a tattoo” really spoke a lot of volumes to me that made me think “You know this is kind of interesting and I’ve never thought about that.” There is a lot of permeant effects that being on social media or digitally sharing our own personal privacy with the world. It’s both fascinating and scary how I could look up a clothing store online right now and then go onto my Facebook account and there will be ads that are for that store. This is insane!

When I was in school social media sky rocketed in high school. In junior high it was Myspace that everyone used. What’s Myspace? Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter, etc.. have made a huge increase in today’s society and in a school setting it’s not normal if you don’t have one of these. Constantly I hear stories about suicides from cyberbullying. It makes me wonder if these social media platforms are actually positive. I think students these days are constantly on their phones and on social media that they lose some of the general things of learning. Like learning manners or the change of conversation. For example, you wouldn’t want to talk to your teacher like how you talk to your friends. I think so many things aren’t learned because we’re consumed in social media and technology. What if we took a step back and had some hands-on experiences? We use to have that in the Elementary schools but since I’ve done some observations there’s not much left for discovery. Kindergarteners have their own iPads!! Compared to when I was in kindergarten this is a huge increase in the use of technology. But, there are pros and cons between these two arguments.

So I Googled myself and the first three results that came up were Shania Twain – YouTube,  Shania Channel – YouTube (a French women who trains on a motorcycle, and a Shania Channel Facebook account (not mine). I scrolled down a little and found my Twitter account that I use for this class along with some other Twitter accounts that aren’t mine. I decided to click on the image tab to see if anything popped up. An image for Global Recipes popped up, which is a recipe from my Pinterest account that I pinned. I clicked on this image and in the suggested image area was a picture that I have of me on my Pinterest account. Which I’m not sure how I feel about having my picture on there because I have seen the show Catfish before. Some other social media images that popped up was my FlipSnack account, my Twitter account,  and more Pinterest things I’ve saved.

social-media-mobile-icons-snapchat-facebook-instagram-ss-800x450-3-800x450
Photo Taken from Marketing Land

The social media I’m most active on is Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat. I try to keep up on Twitter for this class. Every morning before I get up I usually log into Facebook, then go to Instagram, and Snapchat is last for me to check.

A potential employer could be able to see the things I’m interested in by seeing the google images of my Pinterest account. They could go check out my Twitter account that I have for this class as well as see the different projects I did using my Flipsnack account.

What I post on social media tends to be about myself, my family, or things I’m interested in such as puppies. Since starting my path into teaching I’ve been cautious of the things I post on my accounts because I know a potential employer could see that and I know that just because someone hits the delete button it is still there.

Some advice I have about this is make sure your friends circle knows that you’re serious about your career path and to either ask your permission to post something about you or a tagged photo first or possibly to just not post it. This is important for social media users. Another helpful tip is what I mentioned previously is to keep The Digital Citizenship Survival Kit handy. It’s a good reference.

social-media-marketing-image
Photo Taken from Launch and Hustle
1 thought on “Digital Citizenship”

  1. I use to use social media a lot more than I do now, and I feel like the entire realm of social media has changed. It’s no longer just to connect to old friends and get to know new ones like Myspace, and MSN Messenger were used for when I was late elementary/junior high age. I watched and read pretty much all of those posts that our teacher put on there and it always, and I mean always make me think of all the negative things that have come into play because of it such as suicides, and stalking, and plain cyber-bullying. Our brain however, is trained to remember cruel acts before kindness, and I’m trying to retrain that because I’ve had a lot of really positive things come out of social media and using the internet too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

