Innovation

Sunset-Road1400

This course has given me great insight on using online sources properly. I wasn’t ever a fan of Twitter, but Twitter can be used in a positive way with reaching out and finding our own personal learning networks. On Twitter I found teachers, organizations, and technology tools to help for my future classroom. Innovation doesn’t always have to be about technology and it doesn’t necessarily lead to innovation. Technology can often allow for finding new ways of how to teach and new ways of learning.

The way you approach teaching is often noticed by many followers. I want to keep everything at eye level for my students and also try to stick with a color scheme that is not distracting. It’s important for my students to feel comfortable within the classroom environment.

Before starting this classroom I had a really hard justifying how technology is a great way for students to be using, but now that I’ve read and researched my knowledge on using technology I think it’s a great idea. Encouraging teachers to incorporate technology into the classroom has motivated and empowered them to seek it out. There are many great apps out there for students to be successfully using.

What has innovated me this semester is time management and organization. In the beginning I was good about keeping track on my assignments, and than the semester felt like a tornado and I lost a lot of organization and was always pressed on time to finish my assignments. I learned this semester that I can’t do that and that I need to stay up on keeping organized and aware of deadlines.

Another thing that has changed for me this semester is my views on technology. I need to keep an open mind on the positive of using technology in the classroom. This course has been positive in finding different paths to building a network of supporters and role models.

Learning will always be a process and it’s never set in stone. We never stop learning. Throughout our life journey we will have better knowledge day by day, and we will use this knowledge to make our decisions. We learn from others as well as ourselves every day. I think it’s important to always remember that learning is continuous and never over. The path we take now may not be the same path we end up 5 years from now on. Our journey starts today.

From the article “The Unlearning Curve” here are 10 things that I think we need to unlearn:

“We need to unlearn the idea that we are the sole content experts in the classroom, because we can now connect our kids to people who know far more than we do about the material we’re teaching.

We need to unlearn the premise that we know more than our kids, because in many cases, they can now be our teachers as well.

We need to unlearn the idea that learning itself is an event. In this day and age, it is a continual process.

We need to unlearn the strategy that collaborative work inside the classroom is enough and understand that cooperating with students from around the globe can teach relevant and powerful negotiation and team-building skills.

We need to unlearn the idea that every student needs to learn the same content when really what they need to learn is how to self-direct their own learning.

We need to unlearn the notion that our students don’t need to see and understand how we ourselves learn.

We need to unlearn our fear of putting ourselves and our students out there for we’ve proven we can do it in safe, relevant and effective ways.

We need to unlearn the practice that teaches all students at the same pace. Is it any wonder why so many of our students love to play online games where they move forward at their own pace?

We need to unlearn the idea that we can teach our students to be literate in this world by continually blocking and filtering access to the sites and experiences they need our help to navigate.

We need to unlearn the premise that real change can happen just by rethinking what happens inside the school walls and understand that education is now a community undertaking on many different levels.”

3 thoughts on “Innovation”

  1. Before this class I was using Twitter strictly as a social interaction tool. I’m glad that this class made me use it for professional purposes, because now we all have PLNs. I have also found great ways to that technology can be incorporated in the classroom, although I still think that it can be a distraction sometimes. I really like that you think of learning as never being set in stone, because learning can be completely customized. Everyone has their own way!

    Like

  2. This class offered so much for technology and many different things. There is no end for technology. I was like you, organized before this semester and then I lost it. But like you I learned that I can’t just go astray from being organized. On an ending note it is true we do need to unlearn how we learn so they can figure out how to learn. Great post and great semester!

    Like

  3. I, much like you, was not a big fan of twitter before this class began. I always felt like it was just a bunch of nonsense that the people I went to high school posted meaningless little blurbs on, but this course taught me I was wrong! There is so much on twitter that is helpful to those who are in a classroom setting and a PLN is a really good idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

